2014 Toyota Tundra Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2023)

Alex Showalter

Oct 1, 2022

The 2014 Toyota Tundra lasts over 350,000 miles with only minor door lock and brake rotor issues. At $17,175 to $30,450, it’s pricey, but worth the money for an extremely dependable truck.

2014 Toyota Tundra Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (1)

The Good

Powerful V8 engine options available, passenger space is great in the CrewMax cabin and there’s a lot of technology for a truck.

The Bad

Steering feels lighter than other trucks, there’s a lot of cabin noise and fuel economy is worse than average.

Is the 2014 Toyota Tundra a Good Used Truck?

  • Overall Rating 9/10 – 2014 is an excellent year for the Tundra, which earns its high overall rating for being the most dependable full size truck. Owner reviews praise the passenger space, towing capabilities, and long-lasting engines.
  • Interior, Comfort & Cargo 8/10 – Interior materials are improved for 2014 with high-quality materials, the seats are very comfortable, there are also 3 bed lengths available.
  • Reliability 10/10 – There are no widespread problems on the 2014 Tundra. Shoppers should avoid models from 20072008 which have some mechanical issues. Models from 20092020 are all excellent with long-lasting engines.
  • Performance 8/10 – Power is average from the V6, while both V8 engines offer great power along with a high towing capacity at up to 10,400 pounds.
  • Safety 7/10 – The Tundra gets an overall 4-star rating in government crash tests with a low 3-star rating in the front driver side impact test. There’s a standard rearview camera along with an optional blind spot monitoring system available.
  • Gas Mileage 7/10 – Fuel economy is low at up to 17 MPG, giving 448 miles of range from the 26.4 gallon tank. Gas prices are $40 higher than average at $336 per month.
  • Value 8/10 – The Tundra is more expensive than other full size trucks from 2014, however, it holds its value better than any other truck on the market.

What Do Critics Say About the Toyota Tundra?

  • Consumer Reports says the Tundra is built to compete with the American full size trucks with very high owner satisfaction scores.
  • Edmunds gives the Tundra a 4.5/5 praising the strong V8 engines, but doesn’t like the firm suspension.
  • Kelley Blue Book users rate the Tundra 4.5/5 enjoying the excellent resale value, but owners don’t like the basic interior.

What Common Problems Does the 2014 Toyota Tundra Have?

Common problems found on the 2014 Toyota Tundra include door lock actuator failures, shaking while braking, as well as some oil leaks. Overall, these problems are less severe than other full size trucks and repair costs are lower, too.

Door lock actuator failures are a complaint from owners at around 30,000 miles. Failing door lock actuators are common across many different Toyota models. Changing out the actuators costs about $150 per door, depending on local labor rates.

Shaking while braking is also mentioned by some owners at around 25,000 miles. Worn out brake pads and rotors will lead to the truck shaking while it’s slowing down. Replacing the pads costs about $350, while a new set of rotors is roughly $600.

Oil leaks are a relatively rare yet serious problem which are important to mention at around 30,000 miles. Owners report oil leaking from the cam seals on the engine. Changing out the seals is a labor-intensive process which costs around $1,000. Some owners also report having the problem fixed under warranty.

There are 5 average recalls on the 2014 Toyota Tundra. The most serious recall covers the power steering gear assembly, which may leak oil. Toyota will replace the steering gear assembly for free on affected trucks. Other recalls cover air bags, which are common across all used trucks.

How Long Will the 2014 Toyota Tundra Last?

A well-maintained 2014 Toyota Tundra should last over 350,000 miles, which is longer than highly-rated competitors like the Ford F-150. Regular annual maintenance costs are lower than average as well, according to data from Repair Pal at $601 per year.

How Is the Technology?

Entertainment technology is great for a large truck with a standard 6.1-inch touchscreen stereo system on every model. Safety technology is only average, offering a standard rearview camera along with optional parking and blind spot monitoring systems.

Is the 2014 Toyota Tundra a Good Value?

Yes, the 2014 Toyota Tundra is an excellent value since it’s one of the longest lasting full size trucks. Blue book prices range from $17,175 to $30,450, making it more expensive than a Ram 1500 or Chevy Silverado 1500 Series. When new, the price range was $26,200 to $47,600. Depreciation is better than average, losing about 7% of its current value per year.

What are the Different Models of the Toyota Tundra?

There are 5 models of the Toyota Tundra offered for 2014 from the base SR up to the luxurious 1794 Edition.

SR is the entry-level model with:

  • 18-Inch Steel Wheels
  • Cloth Seating
  • Black Plastic Exterior Trim
  • Keyless Entry
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • 1-Inch Touchscreen
  • Rearview Camera
  • 4-Speaker Stereo System

SR5 is a step up, adding:

  • Fog Lights
  • Improved Suspension
  • Power Sliding Rear Window
  • Chrome Grill & Bumper
  • 7-Inch Touchscreen Display

Limited is next, which adds:

  • 20-Inch Alloy Wheels
  • Heated Side Mirrors
  • Dual-Zone Climate Control
  • Leather Seating
  • Power Drivers’ Seat
  • Navigation System
  • Optional Entune Apps

Platinum has more features such as:

  • Unique 20-Inch Wheels
  • Premium Leather Seating
  • Heated & Cooled Front Seats
  • JBL 12-Speaker Stereo System

1794 Edition is the top-of-the-line model with:

  • Saddle Brown Leather Seating
  • Silver Exterior Trim Details
  • Suede Trim

What Engines Come In the Toyota Tundra?

  • The base engine is an average 4.0L V6 which makes 270 horsepower and 278 lb.-ft of torque while it gets up to 17 MPG.
  • A step up is the stronger 4.6L V8, which produces 310 horsepower and 327 lb.-ft. of torque while getting up to 16 MPG.
  • The flagship engine is the powerful 5.7L V8, which generates 381 horsepower and 401 lb.-ft. of torque at up to 15 MPG. Performance is great, going from 0-60 MPH in 6.8 seconds. The towing capacity is good at up to 10,400 pounds.

What Colors Does the Toyota Tundra Come In?

How Comfortable Is the Toyota Tundra?

The 2014 Tundra is a very comfortable truck which features upgraded seats from earlier years. Interior materials are now very nice compared to other trucks, and the upgraded leather choices are excellent.

Passenger space is great in the CrewMax 4-door model, however, legroom is limited in the backseats of the Double Cab.

How Much Storage Space Does the Toyota Tundra Have?

There are three bed lengths available on the 2014 Tundra including a 5-foot-6-inch short bed, 6-foot-6-inch standard bed, and full 8-foot long bed.

2014 Toyota Tundra Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2)

What Are the Differences Between Years?

The second generation of the Tundra was introduced in 2007, and replaced by the third generation in 2022.

2012: New chrome appearance package and rearview camera on Limited model.

2013: No major changes.

2014: Refreshed exterior styling, EnTune apps added, and standard rearview camera.

2015: V6 engine discontinued, TRD Pro model added.

2016: Improved stereo system and standard trailer brake controller.

2017: No major changes.

2018: Standard cab discontinued, Toyota Safety Sense added.

How Does the Toyota Tundra Compare to the Competition?

The Toyota Tundra is the best full size truck for buyers that care about longevity. Prices are higher than the competition, however in the long run it’s worth the money since ownership costs are lower.

The Ford F150 is another full size truck in the same price range. Where the Ford F-150 stands out is with a higher towing capacity, however, the Toyota Tundra has better standard technology. We recommend the Toyota Tundra since they have lower long-term ownership costs.

The Toyota Tacoma is another truck made by Toyota which costs about $4,000 less. Off-road performance is better in the Toyota Tacoma, but the Toyota Tundra has more passenger space and can tow more weight. For most people we recommend the Toyota Tacoma, however, if you plan on hauling trailers, then the Toyota Tundra is a better choice.

Do Owners Recommend the Toyota Tundra?

Owner Reviews

messageEdit Write a Review

TJ S on June 17, 2021

2014 Toyota tundra review.

No issues other than the power locks that sometimes do not work. 3 doors will lock/unlock, while there is usually 1 door that does not lock/unlock. The comfort of the vehicle is outstanding, really nice seats. The technology in the truck is advanced and the sound system is above average.

Linda L on June 15, 2021

Spacious, affordable, 2 family members purchase one for themselves.

I love my vehicle it is spacious so the entire family has plenty of room so I don't have to hear kids complain about them being so close together. I love that have the ability to tow and truck is not long bed and is not super huge. Feature I really enjoy is being able to lower the rear window so my dogs have the option to jump in the truck bed with ease.

Arlene A on June 13, 2021

It has very comfortable seats. Long distances are comfortably traveled.

I like my truck, I have not seen it in itself, much defect because I love it. Something that I do not like very much but it is not a problem, they are the rear view mirrors, which I do not see very well due to their height, but I am used to it. It does not seem like any problem to me, after it gets used to it. It is very comfortable to travel long distances.

Trevor T on June 9, 2021

Fantastic truck, dependable reliable transportation.

This is the most comfortable truck I've ever rode. Its performance beats all. Reliability beats anything I've ever had. I love my truck and would not trade it for anything. I've had this truck for 3 year and have had zero issues. Highly recommended to anyone.

Jere F on May 17, 2021

Quality through and through.

My particular brand of truck is pretty solid and over the last 6 years that I have had it never really had any issues in terms of performance. It's probably the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Cannot go wrong although I will eventually trade it in within the next year or two for the newest model and see what upgrades come with it.

donald M on May 15, 2021

This is the best 4 wheel drive truck I have ever owned and had to live with.

The build quality and reliability is second to none for vehicles of this size and class. The sturdiness of the interior and options is better than any other vehicle that I have ever used. The only fault I have with the vehicle is the mileage and size of the fuel tank,

Priscilla M on April 27, 2021

A car seat and a big stroller can fit right behind the seat.

We have a 14 Toyota tundra. There has not been any major issues. We love Toyota because is seems to hold its value very well. It is extremely reliable and comfortable. We absolutely love how big and roomy the tundra is. There is plenty of room for adults in the back seat as well as storage and groceries.

Margaret M on April 20, 2021

Tundra platinum smooth and protective.

Truck is amazing and smooth. One really feels safe. Sunroof also has a hard top for protection. Seats are comfortable. Option to heat the seats or cool them. Only drawback is having the hydraulic hard top bed cover. It is difficult transporting some items.

Rod P on March 26, 2021

It is Assembled in America, by Americans, not your typical truck

Tough truck that rides like a car. Easy to drive and fun too. It will handle anything I want to do.

Christina F on March 24, 2021

Love Toyota cars and trucks.

This truck has over 200,000 miles on it and drives like it's brand new. There was a recall with the handles sticking that we are experiencing problems with, but haven't gone to get fixed. Other than other routine maintenance we have not had to do anything with it. Toyota vehicles are so reliable that we bought a second Toyota car for myself.

Harris H on March 13, 2021

Toyota 2014 tundra limited edition.

1. One time it stop even work in the middle of the road due to some gearbox problem 2. We live in the area where we get lots of snow in winter due to salt on the roads and streets it start getting rust on the bottom and body. 3. Air in the tire start making trouble when climate change from summer to winter or winter to summer.

Darion E on March 13, 2021

Toyota Tundra has a lot to offer.

The Tundra is a great vehicle. Lots of power with a smooth ride, lots of comfort features including heated seats and leather finishes. I drove several other trucks before choosing this one.

Stephen K on March 7, 2021

It's big enough for a family and roomy for a tall person such as myself

I love my Toyota truck it's roomy and has all the features I could ask for except laser cruise

Tom O on February 2, 2021

2014 Toyota tundra 1794 edition.

Poor fuel economy. Very comfortable. Drives great. Tows great. Very reliable. Very reliable comfortable truck. Fuel economy is not great but makes up for in power and comfort. Has all options I would want. Bluetooth connection is iffy sometimes but is easy to fix by turning off and on radio.

Jack T on January 31, 2021

Interesting car, but a great buy.

Interestingly, it is a very good car. Interestingly, the windows roll down all the way. Interestingly, the car has speakers to play crisp music. I think that I think that this car is an excellent choice. Thankfully. I like the headlights because they lead the way for me, although interestingly, they are not bright enough.

Cyndy G on January 25, 2021

It has Bluetooth and spacious back seat.

I love that it has Bluetooth that is really easy to connect. I enjoy how spacious the back seat is which comes in handy when we visit Virginia from Texas. One thing I wish it had is the car detector to switch lanes but other than that it is an amazing car.

Steve K on January 22, 2021

Tundra is awesome wouldn't trade for any other truck.

The Tundra is the best all around truck on the road comfort style accessories 4 wheel drive on the fly all just simply the best.

Michelle H on January 19, 2021

Trucks are just for work.

Roomy, comfortable, powerful, smooth ride. I am able to take family trips as well as use the vehicle to move/haul objects. One the best vehicle purchases I have made. Only one issue since I purchased. Had to replace the air compressor. Per my mechanic the issue was rare.

Michael T on January 18, 2021

Extremely reliable, but low MPG

Very reliable truck, no real issues. Only two concerns: one, mpg is very low, especially in warmer climates. Two, road trips longer than 6 hours take a toll on my back more than I think they should. If you're looking for a comfortable, daily driver that can handle some off road experiences with plenty of room for family, friends, rods and reels, this is your truck. If you commute, I'd get a little better mpg truck.

Jack G on January 12, 2021

It's a very safe vehicle and lots of room for the whole family

It's very comfortable. I feel safe driving it. Low on maintenance. And I have room for storage

Martin C on January 10, 2021

Comfort and functionality

At 95k miles, other than regular maintenance (oil changes, tire rotations, brakes at approx. 90k miles), the only repairs required was a new secondary air flow system replacement. This system was/is covered under factory warranty on 2013 and prior. However, it is not covered on newer models. Failure of this system does not harm the vehicle, however it does force it into 'limp-mode' until the system is repaired. Overall performance of the vehicle has been great, excellent towing capabilities, comfort, functionality and essentially still performs as if it were just driven off the dealer lot. Driver comfort is enhanced with 8-way adjustable power seat, touch screen and all functions easily accessible.

Amber S on December 30, 2020

Affordable upkeep look amazing! Runs perfectly and is the most comfortable good looking truck I have ever seen.

Comfortable and roomy. Perfectly suited for a family and also perfect to use to work or haul anything! Affordable upkeep.

Joshua C on December 9, 2020

Toyota tundra vehicle experiences.

The Toyota tundra has been a great truck. I plan to drive it until my son turns 16. At that point he will have the vehicle. I will probably buy another Toyota because of the experience I have had with the current truck. I would recommend Toyota vehicles to anyone. The Toyota tundra has been a great truck. I plan to drive it until my son turns 16. At that point he will have the vehicle. I will probably buy another Toyota because of the experience I have had with the current truck. I would recommend Toyota vehicles to anyone.

Stephanie W on December 5, 2020

My thoughts on a Toyota tundra.

I bought it second hand and I have not had any problems with it since I have had it. I love the space in it. Back seat space is very big. I have 6 foot plus kids and they sit in the back with no problem. I would say the seats are comfortable. If I were to buy another truck it would be the same one but newer model.

Lisa G on November 27, 2020

You take care if your car or truck, oil changes, tire rotations, filters, etc.....and the vehicle will last a long time.

I love the look and it drives and handles excellent. The only complaint is they made it so you have to remove the grill to replace headlight bulbs.

B W on November 25, 2020

It's long engine life. How smooth the ride is. Sounds good to

It's a great vehicle. Dependable and durable. Just don't like putting gas into it cause it's expensive

Ryan B on November 10, 2020

Love my 2014 tundra limited.

Problems/annoyances: nav system does not update automatically. You have to go to go dealer periodically if you want new roads to appear. I just use my iphone. A few electrical issues: blinker in rear works lose from time to time. When it rains only one of the horns work. . What is good: reliable, spacious in front and back seat. Comfortable. I have over 124k miles and plan to keep it for at least another 124k more.

Akisso D on November 1, 2020

That it's big and scary it will drive over yours

I like it because of the color and size. I can haik stuff around town

Jose R on October 10, 2020

My truck has very low depreciation , very comfortable to drive in any type of weather

Very reliable truck , comfortable and plenty of room for me and passengers

Tim L on October 8, 2020

Pleased with 2014 Toyota tundra.

It is an excellent vehicle. I have owned the vehicle since it had less than 3000 miles on it and it currently has 130,000. I have not had to do anything more than routine maintenance on the vehicle and it still runs in optimal condition. Mechanically it is excellent and performs up to the standard that a consumer would expect from a Toyota vehicle. The aspects that I am the most disappointed in are the interior. I have two trim components break due to cheaper plastic. I also do not like the carpet as I find it difficult to fully vacuum and get all the debris removed. However, I choose to look past these due to the overall quality of the truck.

Luz G on September 17, 2020

It is a good family vehicle.

It is a good reliable vehicle, good on gas, drives smooth, comfortable seats, great tires. This vehicle is pet and family friendly. Great for vacations and road trips. It is a show stopper. This vehicle is great for the beach and to haul stuff if you are moving. It is a great vehicle and I recommend it.

J J on September 16, 2020

Although it is a truck, and is big, you can be confident driving it with the back up camera. You don't need to worry about backing into anything/one.

I like that it is four wheel drive, and It has a moderate amount of modern conveniences, like a back up camera. I wish it it was larger.

Robert M on September 4, 2020

It is the most comfortable riding vehicle I have ever owned.

My tundra is very reliable in all aspects. I live in the part of the country that summer temperatures are near 100 degrees and winter gets down to low teens. It rides like a car but all truck. It also handles like a car but all truck. It is towing power is fantastic. Only drawback is gas mileage.

Liz B on August 31, 2020

Quality truck for everything and everyone!

The truck drives well and handles beautifully. It has extremely low maintenance costs. It is easy to park. We have a boat and it pulls the boat without any problem at all. We have a hard top on the back for the truck bed and this makes traveling and carry things a breeze. It keeps everything dry and intact.

Jeff K on August 24, 2020

Has all the creature comforts I need. Very reliable truck.

Very reliable truck, only issue I've had is door lock actuator. Truck drives great and fuel mileage is comparable to other models.

Ryan C on August 24, 2020

Superb quality when it comes to Toyota tundra.

I have owned two Toyota tundras and have no plan on buying any other type of truck in the future. My first tundra was a 2008 limited edition and my current tundra is a 2014 1894 edition. These vehicles hold up very well over time and also hold their value better than most vehicles. The only con I can give these vehicles is their electronic features are behind the curve when compared to other manufacturers. I do wish Toyota would update and their in-cab features such as the radio/GPS UI. Overall, very happy with my vehicle and it is reliability.

Amber T on August 24, 2020

Alternator Issues, but overall great truck!

I have 110K miles on my 2014 Tundra. I have had to replace the alternator twice. But that is my only issues, I love this truck. No other issues.

Jeff A on August 21, 2020

I have never had any major problems with my tundra.

I have not had any issues with the vehicle recently. The air conditioning motor goes out more often than I would like, but that is pretty much the biggest issue that I have ever had. My entertainment system freezes regularly and getting that replaced is harder than it should be.

Dee D on August 20, 2020

Toyota tundra review is perfect for you.

My vehicle provides all what I need for work, vacation and home. The speed is good. It is very comfortable to drive with all the features. It is also good to drive for vacation with family. All the different features of the car is really comfortable and perfect.

Bernadette A on August 15, 2020

Roomy with long lasting quality totally worth the price

Love the space and quality of the interior and great for pulling camper on long family trips. Dislike that it has no under back seat storage. Would be happier if it could get a little better mpg.

Nathan N on July 22, 2020

Tundra tss is the way to go.

Love everything about my tundra except the fuel. Tank is too small. Great truck and great features, newer ones are even better. You should give Toyota a try if you haven't already. I have 94 thousand miles and it has been in the shop one time for a camshaft seal, I have done nothing else but change oil and drive it.

Steph S on July 21, 2020

Beautiful but wastes lots of gas.

I haven't had any performance problems. It is reliable. It is very comfortable. The driver seat leather ripped on the seam. The steering wheel leather is fraying. It wastes too much gas driving it around daily. I love how it looks through and feels. I like how the radio has a scan button too.

Ryan S on July 10, 2020

2014 Toyota Tundra crewmax, lifted and dark gray.

I like almost everything about my truck except the gas mileage. It is the worst in the industry and is making me think about getting a different vehicle.

Brian R on June 28, 2020

The sheer room of this vehicle is what turned me onto it..

Theirs not really anything I would change about my vehicle it has been reliable so far I've only had one issue and the was the pcv valve and it was about a 20 dollar fix... As far as comfort goes my truck is very comfortable also very roomy I have owned Chevys and fords before but I don't think I'll ever switch back...

Andrew R on June 26, 2020

Reliable performance and large engine compared to other brands.

Problems with the door locks. All have been replaced but are now going bad again. Radio/navigation also freezes sometimes. Other than that a solid truck.

Javier E on June 20, 2020

Overall satisfied with my Toyota tundra.

Good power and comfort. Pulls travel trailer well. Good handling and. Plenty of room to carry luggage. Like the color and features. Like the all terrain tires and sound system. Like the sprayed in bed liner. Gas mileage is not wonderful but not too bad. Like the features and body style.

Haley C on June 10, 2020

It is fast and loud and can probably wake you up in your sleep.

I love the big truck feel. When driving I feel safe and. I feel the truck handles very well in all weather conditions. The only thing I wish is they made a bigger diesel version of this truck.

CATHERINE M on June 6, 2020

Gas guzzling tundra but pretty.

Spacious car but with some problems. Backup camera broke and fell into tailgate. The truck uses a lot of gas as well. Has many extras like digital screen and fold down seats. Have had issues with the tire sensors and electronic components. Would buy again if came in a eco model for better gas mileage.

Carissa W on June 4, 2020

This is why I love my tundra!

I love how much space there is in the cab. It's been helpful with towing capabilities and when moving. This is the first truck I have owned and I am absolutely in love with the performance. I live in Arizona and the ac cools the entire cab in less than 3 minutes. That is amazing to me.

Max T on June 3, 2020

Amazing truck that you can depend on.

It is very comfortable and I can barely hear the noise outside. It has a spacious legroom. The seats are leather and its is equipped with GPS navigation, Siriusxm satellite radio, it has heated seats, very good sound system quality, reliable back up camera and sensors.

Alex Showalter

Alex is an automotive enthusiast with over 15 years of experience in the used car market. He brings a wealth of knowledge to Vehicle History as our Staff Writer and has written hundreds of used car reviews helping buyers make informed purchasing decisions. He is a member of the Automotive Press Association, and keeps up-to-date on the latest changes in the industry. Over the years, he has driven hundreds of cars, working on many of them. His mechanical experience evolved from modifying off-road trucks as a teen to focusing on automotive electrical systems as he got older. He now specializes in reviewing used cars as an automotive journalist. Some of his favorite brands are Toyota and BMW. The Toyota Land Cruiser is one of his favorite vehicles of all time since they’re built to last forever and can go anywhere. One of his current cars is a Lexus LX570, built on the same platform as the 200-series Land Cruiser, but it’s a better value in the used market.

    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: Ms. Lucile Johns

    Last Updated: 02/14/2023

    Views: 5963

    Rating: 4 / 5 (61 voted)

    Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Ms. Lucile Johns

    Birthday: 1999-11-16

    Address: Suite 237 56046 Walsh Coves, West Enid, VT 46557

    Phone: +59115435987187

    Job: Education Supervisor

    Hobby: Genealogy, Stone skipping, Skydiving, Nordic skating, Couponing, Coloring, Gardening

    Introduction: My name is Ms. Lucile Johns, I am a successful, friendly, friendly, homely, adventurous, handsome, delightful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.